Runs on one

General Discussion Forum for TRX Enthusiasts...

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

marmyr
TRX-Enthusiast

Runs on one

Post by marmyr » Sat Aug 15, 2020 8:26 am

Hello Trixie fans
This is my first time out here :D
I own a -97 which is running on one cyl.
Sometimes it's runs perfect and sometimes not.
I've checked ignition so i thinks it's carburetor problems.
what's the usual problems on these carburetors ?

I would be very grateful for your help on this matter!

Red Rex
TRX-Enthusiast

Re: Runs on one

Post by Red Rex » Sat Aug 15, 2020 10:32 am

Suffered the same for a long time. Mine was constantly oiling up the RH plug (on the camchain side, the one that's a bugger to get out !).
New plugs solved the problem for a while but the eventual cure was a carburettor overhaul with new emulsion tubes, needles, jets etc.
Rubber side down, Red side up is my preferred riding style.

scottish Bloke
TRX-Enthusiast

Post by scottish Bloke » Sun Aug 16, 2020 10:21 am

I have had the same problem in the past.. turned out to be a broken wire between the cdi and the ignition coil.. i repaired it but more recently bought a second hand wiring loom as the original was past its best.

cobbadiggabuddyblooo
Site Sponsor

Post by cobbadiggabuddyblooo » Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:45 am

Just to correct you on 1 point ..
It’s a TCI ( transistor cool ignition ) not a CDI.( capacitor discharge ignition )
They work on 2 totally different principals.
laughter is the best medicine

scottish Bloke
TRX-Enthusiast

Post by scottish Bloke » Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:47 pm

Thanks I did not know that.. so it just sends a signal to the coil to fire it ?

dicky
Site Sponsor / Administrator

Post by dicky » Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:03 am

A slight misspelling (but that wouldn't be Cobba if it was all correct) it is usually Transistor Coil Ignition, or sometimes Transistor Controlled Ignition.