Newby valve clearance adjustment

General Discussion Forum for TRX Enthusiasts...

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

voreng
TRX-Enthusiast

Newby valve clearance adjustment

Post by voreng » Fri Nov 23, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi Guys,
I recently bought a nice 1999 TRX with 68K kilometres one owner, using it for a couple of thousand "K" to travel to work, it is the first small bike I have ever owned and is a shed load of fun in the twisty stuff, lot less torque than the ol MT-01 but handles like on rails :D
Question is: I don't think the valve clearance has ever been done and I have a couple of very rattly lifters - fairly clanky when warm.
should I plan to do the lot ? cam chain change and adjuster as well as reshim the whole thing, not a problem as I am a mechanic with a Haynes workshop manual, just like some guide lines, does the TRX engine go to 100K kilometres OK? mine uses no oil and pulls well, just rattly, bike is in fantastic condition for its age, really like to hear some good advice from a long term owner who has done all this stuff, by the way, only done a couple of thousand K's on it but it is staying with me, it is awesome and the sound from the Yoshi's is aural sex.
Wish I bought one years ago, cheers Steve

Snod Blatter
TRX-Enthusiast

Re: Newby valve clearance adjustment

Post by Snod Blatter » Fri Nov 23, 2018 8:41 pm

I just shimmed mine, at 40K miles (so quite similar) the tensioner didn't seem to be out much more than with a new chain and if you factor in the wear on the tensioner blades then a new chain would probably seem very similar indeed. No need to replace the tensioner as far as I know but I've never understood why people do that.
'95 4NX with K&N filter, Motad Venom cans, YSS PD valves, Ohlins fork springs, 530 C+S, Green CDI, 11/16 radial master cylinder, +30mm jack up dog bones. Enjoyable money pit.

cobbadiggabuddyblooo
Site Sponsor

Post by cobbadiggabuddyblooo » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:47 am