Trx rear shock wanted and advice

Please share your secrets! What mods have you made to your TRX?

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

Martin trx850
TRX-Enthusiast

Trx rear shock wanted and advice

Post by Martin trx850 » Thu Sep 06, 2018 8:26 pm

Hi there

I’m new to bikes after a 20 year break and brought a bike I lusted after in the 90’s, a 1996 TRX850.
With a suspected tired original rear shock.

I am hoping for a modern upgrade is there any one selling one or could recommend a supplier.
I’m in midlands
I’ve sourced a Shock from a R6 2CO 2006/7, is this a standard upgrade? Is it recommended,
Is it a standard bolt on replacement hassle free?
Cheers

dicky
Site Sponsor / Administrator

Re: Trx rear shock wanted and advice

Post by dicky » Thu Sep 06, 2018 11:44 pm

Before Cobba hops in and gives you all the technical reason why this is not a good idea, I'll give you the condensed version.
Shocks are not generally interchangeable, even if they are the same or close to in length.
You have to consider stroke, spring length and rate, and the rest of the linkage system (including swingarm length) all as one complex system.
Change one bit and the whole thing can get really screwy really quickly.
You can get the stock rear shock serviced or re-conditioned for not much money and know that it is designed to work in your bike.
If you know that you'll be riding way past the limits of the standard shock (which is quite a good shock btw), then go for an after market shock that is designed for the TRX (i.e. Nitron et al)
dicky
OOOSDC #5

Martin trx850
TRX-Enthusiast

Post by Martin trx850 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:13 am

Thanks, very useful guidance.
The current original shock is over 20 years old, I think it’s time for an upgrade to modern technology, so I’m opting for a more modern item.

dicky
Site Sponsor / Administrator

Post by dicky » Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:36 am

Fair enough, it's your bike.