New shock, rebuild stock one?

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

jjmoto
Site Sponsor

New shock, rebuild stock one?

Post by jjmoto » Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:58 am

Ive been speaking to MCT about suspension options, whether to get my stock shock rebuilt & revalved or go the whole hog & buy a new one. I would go for a basic shock (Wilburs, Nitron, Hagon)? Also what to do with the forks MCT do a rebuild & respring for around £200. I'm no suspension expert just want a well set up good handling bike. MCT are local to me so it makes sense to use them maybe another suspension expert would point me in another direction. Be interested to hear some opinions but dont want to go down the R6 or ZX10 shock route.

davamb
TRX-Enthusiast

Re: New shock, rebuild stock one?

Post by davamb » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:13 am

I thought the standard shock was an Ohlins unit and responded well to a rebuild and setup to your weight?
Ride Well!
Cheers, Dave.

Con Rod
Site Sponsor

Post by Con Rod » Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:20 am

I just ordered a replacement shock from Nitron last week.

http://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motorcycl ... race-shock

No question rebuilding the original shock will be an improvement but if you are interested in really making a difference to the handling there is no question a good quality new replacement which has been built for your weight and riding style will be a big improvement over the stock shock

I did a lot of research and decided to go for a Nitron as they offer a modern shock, specifically for the TRX which is custom build and well priced.

I went for their top of the range trx shock but if i reckon there lower level shock are also very good and well priced compared to the competition

It is worth looking into this shock

http://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motorcycl ... port-shock

and this video is informative

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnGljLug1Zk

I will report back once i get mine
Paul

Con Rod
Site Sponsor