Float Height and carb woes

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

FANDANGO
TRX-Enthusiast

Float Height and carb woes

Post by FANDANGO » Mon May 25, 2015 10:34 am

Hi,

Could I please get a check on what the float height is for standard carbs and also the float height for carbs with DynoJet/Factory Pro, etc jets.

I have it my head as being 9mm for standard and 14mm for Dynojet/etc

I'm not a pro by any means but I've read so much stuff I've started to doubt myself so want to double check.

Bikes stuttering, and popping on a constant throttle at anything below half throttle, hard acceleration is really good, smooth and pulls strong, you do though get a hesitation when rolling off and then back on again.

I've had the carbs off, stripped and cleaned - looks to be a Dynojet kit fitted as needle and tubes are silver not brass (from posts on here they appear to be fairly new). Pilot jet was at 3 turns out and the needle was on the 2nd or 3rd clip ( I stupidly didn't record the setting), float heights where both at 9mm and the TPS is set correctly.

I've raised the height to 14mm (that should give a greater reserve of fuel so should help the roll off/roll on stutter) and gone to 2.5 turns out on the pilot. Thought being its to lean so winding it in with richen it up and assist with the constant throttle, lower throttle opening position.

No luck its still stuttering and popping. Bikes been stood a while due to a back injury and so I've serviced it, had to put a new loom on as the old one had ben hacked into, coils are apparently from an aprillia (cant be them breaking down under load as it accelerates well??) and I serviced the fuel tap as it was shot.

I had back surgery this time last year and as part of my rehab I had to set a goal, mine was to get back on a bike and do a lap of the TT course aging (touring not racing)...I've two weeks to sort this.

Any pointers are gratefully received.

Con Rod
Site Sponsor

Re: Float Height and carb woes