prepping an engine for painting

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

billy budge
Site Sponsor

prepping an engine for painting

Post by billy budge » Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:20 pm

Evening all

I am looking to paint my silver engine black, which I have planned to do for some time but have never got round to it. It is quite grubby and knarly so I wondered if anyone who has done this before could give me some helpful tips on how best to get it clean please, I plan to keep it complete rather than breaking it down. I know that Con Rod did it this way and it looked cool.
Dont know what cleaners/degreasers to use and in what order to use them eg use gunk/rinse/chemical cleaner/rinse etc and does the complete engine need rubbing down and what with???
Also, is it best to use a primer and what are/is the best brands to use?? Was thinking PJ1.

Would really appreciate some advice as I have never tried this before and I know it can be a bitch to get it to adhere if its not prepared right.

Cheers.
speeding?......me?.......with my reputation?

alextrx850
Site Sponsor

Re: prepping an engine for painting

Post by alextrx850 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:08 pm

All you would need is to take the gloss off the origional finish Billy..,that goes for anything ,alloy steel, plastic , we use a paste which is very mugh like JIFF or a stove top cleaner powder cleanser with the abrasive content...that,. with a scotch brite abrasive pad and work the recesses...my only caution would be to be sure the front of the motor with the stone strike areas are scoured well as old paint might be flakey...you guys in England might have oxidisation [ alloy rust]..which would need a good rub...