After Changing CCT- Cam Chain still slack

Moderators: trixynut, Mincehead, dicky, phuk72, Jak, Kevtrx849

Tominss
TRX-Enthusiast

After Changing CCT- Cam Chain still slack

Post by Tominss » Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:28 pm

Hello. I've been riding only for a couple of months and TRX850 is my first bike, please don't judge too hard. :) Right.. Had a rattling noise from the right side of the engine, so I've been advised that the simplest solution for that is new cam chain tensioner. After replacing it I was turning the engine with my ratchet key (as it was stated in manual), I've noticed that chain is still too loose. Does it means that I have to get a new chain, sprockets and plastic guiders?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Tominss on Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mincehead
TRX-Enthusiast

Re: After Changing CCT- Cam Chain has become slack.

Post by Mincehead » Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:58 pm

LIKELY a chain only, you can fit a chain without removing the cylinder head so it`s not too drastic.
Take the tensioner back out, undo the four cam sprocket bolts (keep them paired to and with the sprockets), remove oil pumps and the chain can be lifted from the crank sprocket, through the tunnel and out of the motor.
I doubt the chain tensioner blade is worn but you can look down the tunnel to check it.
Oh one last thing, you were turning the motor over in the right direction I take it? The crankshaft should be turned anti-clockwise. :wink:
LOUD PIPES SAVE LIVES

Tominss
TRX-Enthusiast

Post by Tominss » Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:30 pm

Thank you Mincehead.